## 64 Organizations to Congress:

"Let the Wind Production Tax Credit Expire!"

September 6, 2012

Dear United States Senators and Representatives:

The principal federal support for wind energy, the so-called Production Tax Credit (PTC), is scheduled to expire at the end of this year. The undersigned organizations and the millions of Americans we represent stand opposed to extending the wind PTC. This special provision continues the deplorable practice of using the tax code to favor certain groups over others.

Whenever the government protects a particular industry, as it has with wind energy production, the industry tends to remain dependent on it. As Nobel laureate economist Milton Friedman noted, "The infant industry argument is a smoke screen. The so-called infants never grow up." The wind PTC, like other green energy incentives, is a prime case in point. The PTC was created in 1992 to get the wind industry off the ground. Yet 20 years later, we have little to show for it. We're still providing a \$5 billion special tax break each year for an industry that supplies just over 2% of our power.

If a new technology truly has worthwhile benefits for American consumers such as lower cost, higher efficiency, or environmental benefits, then that technology will demonstrate its value by competing in the open market for consumers' dollars—not by living off of special provisions in the tax code. American consumers—not Washington lawmakers—should decide the future of American energy.

It is time to end special tax provisions that distort the energy market and increase energy prices. We urge you to let the wasteful wind PTC expire as planned at the end of the year.

Sincerely,

James Valvo	Myron Ebell
Director of Policy	President
Americans for Prosperity	Freedom Action
Phil Kerpen	Duane Parde
President	President
American Commitment	National Taxpayers Union
Wayne T. Brough, Ph.D.	Eli Lehrer
Chief Economist and VP for Research	President
FreedomWorks	R Street

Dan Greenberg President Advance Arkansas Institute

John Droz, jr. Executive Director Alliance for Wise Energy Decisions (AWED)

Thomas J. Pyle President American Energy Alliance

Donald Ferguson Executive Director American Tradition Partnership

Bill Wilson President Americans for Limited Government

Jon Morehouse President Brown County Citizens for Responsible Wind Energy (WI)

Dick Ludwig President Calumet County Citizens for Responsible Energy – Calumet County (WI)

Jeffrey Mazzella President Center for Individual Freedom

Bill Pascoe Executive Vice President Citizens for the Republic

Francis X. De Luca President Civitas Institute

Joseph Zampogna, PhD Member Clear Skies over Orangeville (NY) Chris Chocola President The Club for Growth

Jonathan Bydlak President Coalition to Reduce Spending

Robert E. Aliasso, Jr. Co-Chair Coalition for the Preservation of the Golden Crescent (NY)

Tom Brinkman Jr. Chairman Coalition Opposed to Additional Spending and Taxes (COAST)

Matthew J. Brouillette President & CEO Commonwealth Foundation

Marlo Lewis Senior Fellow Competitive Enterprise Institute

Janet B. Steck Secretary Concerned Citizens for Sustainable Energies (NY)

Kathy Boser President Concerned Citizens of Cattaraugus County (NY)

Alice Swift Concerned Citizens of DeKalb County (Indiana)

Mary Brandt Concerned Citizens of Smelser & Paris Township, Grant County residents – Grant County (WI) Dave Vind Concerned Citizens of Trempealeau County – Trempealeau, Monroe, Rock, La Crosse, and Dane counties (WI)

Pamela Winchester Spokesperson Concerned Residents of Hammond (NY)

Tom Schatz President Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Tauna Christensen Director Energy Integrity Project

Anthony Carter Co-President Finger Lakes Preservation Association (NY)

Brenda Salseg Forest Voice - St Croix County (WI)

Gerry Meyer Forward Wind Factory Victims Coalition Fond du Lac County (WI)

Trent England Vice President of Policy Freedom Foundation

Jamie Fletcher Founder Glenmore Constitutional Coalition (WI)

Thomas Marks Executive Director Great Lakes Wind Truth, US

Kate Simon Member Informed Citizens of Michigan Andrew Langer President Institute for Liberty

Jon Sanders Director of Regulatory Studies John Locke Foundation (NC)

Jim Timble Spokesperson Lee County Informed (IL)

Colin A. Hanna President Let Freedom Ring

Seton Motley President Less Government

Bonnie Oleksa Founder Mansfield North Central Ohio Tea Party Association (OH)

Amy Ridenour President National Center for Public Policy Research

Lew Uhler President National Tax-Limitation Committee

Kevin Gurall Director Partnership for the Preservation of the Downeast Lakes Watershed (ME)

Donna Davidge Protect Our Lakes (ME)

Paul J. Gessing President Rio Grande Foundation (NM) Sue Sliwinski President and Founder Sardinia Preservation Group (NY)

Richard C. Watts Vice President Save Our Beaches (Cape Cod, Massachusetts)

Fred and Laurie Werner Sheboygan County Communities for Responsible Energy (WI)

Jim Martin Chairman Sixty Plus Association

Rick Bonomo Author Stop Lookout Windpower (PA)

Joshua Sewell Senior Policy Analyst Taxpayers for Common Sense

Marianne Gasiecki State Coordinator Tea Party Patriots in Ohio

Bob Moran Tehachapi Area Communities for Responsible Energy Development (California)

John Colyandro Executive Director Texas Conservative Coalition Research Institute

Carl Bearden Executive Director United for Missouri Martin Mangino, Ph.D. President Virginia Scientists and Engineers for Energy and Environment (VA-SEEE) Central Virginia Chapter

Morton Blackwell Chairman The Weyrich Lunch

Barry Funfar Wind Wise – Massachusetts Wind Wise – Cape Cod

Steve Deslauriers Media Contact Wisconsin Citizens Coalition

Lynn Korinek Executive Team Wisconsin Independent Citizens Opposing Wind Turbine Sites (Windcows)