









AMERICAN COMMITMENT















May 15, 2018

The Honorable Donald Trump
Office of the President of the United States
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

The Honorable Steven Mnuchin Office of the Secretary of the Treasury Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20220

Dear President Trump and Secretary Mnuchin:

On behalf the undersigned individuals and organizations representing millions of concerned taxpayers across America, we write regarding an issue of utmost importance: preventing further Internal Revenue Service (IRS) targeting of nonprofit organizations on the basis of ideology, and protecting the First Amendment freedoms of speech and association of those organizations by eliminating IRS collection of sensitive information on their donors.

Specifically, we are asking you to do everything you can to encourage the IRS to initiate a rulemaking to eliminate the Schedule B form filing requirement for 501(c) exempt organizations.

As you are well aware, recent years have witnessed an increase in assaults against First Amendment free speech and association rights. In numerous instances, the IRS has collected and leaked sensitive identifiable information regarding contributors to 501(c) organizations contained in the IRS "Schedule B" form that is supposed to remain confidential. Moreover, the Schedule B form and confidential donor information contained therein have been demanded and used by other government officials, specifically hyper-partisan state attorneys general, to harass and intimidate organizations and individual donors that do not share their ideological and political beliefs.

The IRS itself has acknowledged that Schedule B information is irrelevant to the legally permissible handling of tax filings by 501(c) organizations. Indeed, both the previous IRS Commissioner and IRS Exempt Organizations Director made public statements in 2015 questioning the need for the Schedule B form and intimated the IRS could not guarantee the confidentiality of the information being provided.

Earlier this year, Congress introduced the Preventing IRS Abuse and Protecting Free Speech Act, H.R. 4916, which mirrors legislation passed by the House of Representatives in the last Congress that eliminates the Schedule B filing requirement. While a permanent legislative fix like H.R. 4916 would be ideal, Congress' ongoing failure to act has left nonprofit organizations and their donors vulnerable to further targeting, thus justifying action by the Administration.



























In the absence of legislation, the IRS can and should initiate a rulemaking to eliminate the Schedule B requirement, thereby preventing IRS officials and activist state attorneys general from exploiting the confidential information to target groups and individual Americans with whom they politically disagree.

Such a rulemaking is well within the IRS's prerogative. Congress never adopted the Schedule B donor disclosure requirement for most exempt 501(c) organizations. Yet the disclosure requirement applies today to *all* exempt organizations, as the Treasury Department and IRS made the decision independently of Congress to require the filing of Schedule B as part of the Form 990 annual information return of *all* exempt organizations.

Mr. President and Mr. Secretary, there is simply no justification for the IRS to continue using Schedule B to collect sensitive data on Americans who simply seek to exercise their First Amendment free speech and free association rights. We stand united in our efforts to eliminate the Schedule B and respectfully urge you to exercise your authority to encourage an IRS rulemaking as soon as possible to accomplish that goal.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Mazzella President

Center for Individual Freedom

Lisa B. Nelson

CEO

ALEC Action

Michael Farris

President, CEO and General

Counsel

Alliance Defending Freedom

Allen J. Hebert

President & Chairman

American-Chinese Fellowship of

Houston

Phil Kerpen President

American Commitment

Matt Schlapp Chairman

American Conservative Union

Sean Noble President American Encore Tim Wildmon President

American Family Association

Grover Norquist

President

Americans for Tax Reform

Steve Pociask President

American Consumer Institute Center for Citizen Research

Brent Wm. Gardner Chief Government Affairs

Officer

Americans for Prosperity

Mark J. Fitzgibbons

President of Corporate Affairs American Target Advertising,

Inc.

Andrew F. Quinlan

President

Center for Freedom and

Prosperity

































Olivia Grady Senior Fellow

Center for Worker Freedom

Thomas Schatz President

Citizens Against Government

Waste

Chuck Muth
President
Citizen Outreach

Cleta Mitchell, Esq. Attorney for Nonprofit Organizations

Kent Lassman President

Competitive Enterprise Institute

Penny Nance
President and CEO
Concerned Women for America

Matthew Kandrach

President

Consumer Action for a Strong

Economy

Ron Pearson Executive Director

Conservative Victory Fund

Katie McAuliffe Executive Director Digital Liberty

Rebekah Gantner Executive Director

Eagle Forum Education & Legal

Defense Fund

Grant Callen President

Empower Mississippi

Gary Marx

Former Executive Director
Faith and Freedom Coalition

Paul Weber President & CEO Family Policy Alliance George Landrith
President

Frontiers of Freedom

Jonathan Bechtle

Chief Operating Officer and

General Counsel

Foundation for Government

Accountability

Brian Minnich

Executive Vice President Freedom Foundation

Nathan Nascimento Executive Vice President Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce

Adam Brandon President FreedomWorks

Victor Riches
President & CEO
Goldwater Institute

Christopher L. Carmouche Executive Director GrassTopsUSA

Mario H. Lopez President

Hispanic Leadership Fund

Carrie L. Lukas President

Independent Women's Forum

Heather R. Higgins

CFO

Independent Women's Voice

Andrew Langer President

Institute for Liberty

Tom Giovanetti

President

Institute for Policy Innovation

Samuel B. Casey General Counsel Jubilee Campaign

























Dave Trabert President

Kansas Policy Institute

Seton Motley President

Less Government

Mathew D. Staver, Esq. Founder and Chairman

Liberty Counsel

Gregg Keller Chairman

Missouri Century Foundation

Chris W. Cox
Executive Director
National Rifle Association
Institute for Legislative Action

Pete Sepp President

National Taxpayers Union

Ed Martin President

Phyllis Schlafly Eagles

Lorenzo Montanari Executive Director Property Rights Alliance

Eli Lehrer President

R Street Institute

James L. Martin Founder/Chairman 60 Plus Association

Saulius "Saul" Anuzis

President

60 Plus Association

Karen Kerrigan President & CEO Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council Tracie Sharp President

State Policy Network

David Williams President

Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Judson Phillips President Tea Party Nation

Jenny Beth Martin

President

Tea Party Patriots Foundation

Lynn Taylor President Tertium Quids

Robert Alt President & CEO The Buckeye Institute

Daniel Garza President The LIBRE Initiative

THE LIDIL HILIALIVE

C. Preston Noell III

President

Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Alan P. Dye Partner

Webster, Chamberlain & Bean

Stephen T. Whelan

Chairman

The Witherspoon Institute

Dann Mead Smith

President

Washington Policy Center

Ron Robinson President

Young America's Foundation

cc: Members of Congress