Inexplicably, the U.S. Senate this week narrowly moved to restore 2015 Obama Administration Federal…
CFIF on Twitter CFIF on YouTube
Image of the Day: What Obama FCC Internet Regulation Did to U.S. Broadband Investment

Inexplicably, the U.S. Senate this week narrowly moved to restore 2015 Obama Administration Federal Communications Commission (FCC) crony capitalist internet regulations.  Here's the effect that Obama FCC regulation immediately had on mobile broadband investment.  It's now the duty of the House of Representatives and the Trump Administration to kill this mindless Obama-era attempt to regulate the internet, and we encourage everyone to contact their Representatives and the White House to demand that action.

. [caption id="" align="alignleft" width="550" caption="Neutering the Net"][/caption]…[more]

May 18, 2018 • 12:09 pm

Liberty Update

CFIFs latest news, commentary and alerts delivered to your inbox.
Jester's CourtroomLegal tales stranger than stranger than fiction: Ridiculous and sometimes funny lawsuits plaguing our courts.
Home Press Room CFIF Joins Coalition Urging Confirmation of Judge Neil Gorsuch to U.S. Supreme Court
CFIF Joins Coalition Urging Confirmation of Judge Neil Gorsuch to U.S. Supreme Court Print
Friday, March 24 2017

In a letter sent this week to every Member of the United States Senate, the Center for Individual Freedom ("CFIF") joined a coalition of more than 50 individuals and organizations urging the confirmation of Judge Neil Gorsuch to the Supreme Court of the United States.

The text of the letter, which was organized by Americans for Prosperity, can be viewed below. Or, to view the letter as it was delivered to the U.S. Senate, click here (PDF).

March 23, 2017

Dear Senators:  

On behalf of the millions of Americans represented by the undersigned organizations who value freedom and liberty, we write to urge you to support a swift confirmation for Judge Neil Gorsuch to the Supreme Court of the United States.

Judge Gorsuch is qualified, experienced, and respects the Constitution. Much like the late Justice Antonin Scalia, Gorsuch is an originalist who believes that judges should follow the law as it is written – as opposed to using it to advance a narrow political or personal agenda. Consider his ruling in Cordova v. City of Albuquerque, where he wrote, “Our job is interpreting the Constitution…a carefully drafted text judges are charged with applying according to its original public meaning.”  

Judge Gorsuch has also warned about the dangers of government overreach, including in or by the courts. As he aptly stated in 2013, “It is an irony of the law that either too much or too little can impair liberty. Our aim here has to be for a golden mean.”  

Judge Gorsuch has proven a competent jurist since being confirmed in 2006 without opposition to the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals. There is no reason why Judge Gorsuch should be denied either a fair hearing or confirmation to the U.S. Supreme Court.  

Together, we urge you to expedite the hearing for Judge Gorsuch and confirm him to the Supreme Court in a clean but thorough process. 


(organizations listed for identification purposes only)
Mark Lucas, Executive Director, Concerned Veterans for America
Brent Gardner, Chief Government Affairs Officer, Americans for Prosperity
Mark Holden, Chairman, Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce
Grover Norquist, President, Americans for Tax Reform
Michael A. Needham, Chief Executive Officer, Heritage Action for America
Gary A. Marx, Senior Advisor, Judicial Crisis Network
Dan Greenberg, President, Advance Arkansas Institute
Tim Doyle, Vice President of Policy & General Counsel, American Council for Capital Formation
Sean Noble, President, American Encore
Mark Wingate, President & Director, American Seniors Association, Inc.
Mark Fitzgibbons, President of Corporate Affairs, American Target Advertising
Gary L. Bauer, President, American Values
Bryan C. Williams, Director of Government Affairs, Associated Builders and Contractors of Ohio
Kim Crockett, VP, Senior Policy Fellow and General Counsel, Center of the American Experiment
Gregory Quinlan, President, The Center for Garden State Families
Jeffrey Mazzella, President, Center for Individual Freedom
David N. Bossie, President, Citizens United
Matt Brouillette, President & CEO, Commonwealth Partners
Katie McAuliffe, Executive Director, Digital Liberty
Craig Richardson, President, Energy & Environment Action Team 
Cleta Mitchell, Esq., Partner, Foley & Lardner, LLP
Annette Meeks, CEO, Freedom Foundation of Minnesota
Adam Brandon, President and CEO, FreedomWorks
Andrew Clark, Executive Director, Generation Opportunity
Mario H. Lopez, President, Hispanic Leadership Fund
Jason Torchinsky, Partner, Holtzman Vogel Josefiak Torchinsky PLLC
William A. Estrada, Esq., Director of Federal Relations, Home School Legal Defense Association
Amy Oliver Cooke, Executive Vice President, Independence Institute
Andrew Langer, President, Institute for Liberty
James Bopp, Jr., General Counsel, James Madison Center for Free Speech
Dr. J. Robert McClure, President and CEO, The James Madison Institute
Lisa B. Nelson, CEO, Jeffersonian Project 
Roy Cordato, VP for Research and Resident Scholar, The John Locke Foundation
John T. Tomicki, JD, Executive Director, League of American Families 
Seton Motley, President Less Government
Daniel Garza, President, The LIBRE Initiative
Brent Mead, CEO, Montana Policy Institute
Edna Kent, Chairman, Montanans for Limited Government 
Gary Marbut, President, Montana Shooting Sports Association
Harry C. Alford, President/CEO, National Black Chamber of Commerce
David Ridenour, President, National Center for Public Policy Research
Willes K. Lee, President, National Federation of Republican Assemblies
George Kneisser, Executive Director, New Jersey Citizens for Property Tax Reform
Eli Lehrer, President, R Street Institute
Paul J. Gessing, President, Rio Grande Foundation
Samantha Dravis, President, Rule of Law Defense Fund
William Whipple III, President, Secure America's Future Economy
Teri Christoph, Co-founder, Smart Girl Politics
Maureen Blum,  Strategic Coalitions & Initiatives, LLC 
David Williams, President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance
Judson Phillips, Founder, Tea Party Nation
Jenny Beth Martin, Co-Founder, Tea Party Patriots
Russell H. Withers, General Counsel & Policy Analyst, Texas Conservative Coalition Research Institute
Michael W. Thompson, Chairman and President, Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy (Virginia)
Jonathan Downing, CEO, Wyoming Liberty Group 
Carol Platt Liebau, President, Yankee Institute for Public Policy   

Related Articles :
Question of the Week   
Which one of the following states was the first to designate Memorial Day a legal holiday?
More Questions
Quote of the Day   
"Many agents in the FBI want Congress to subpoena them so they can reveal problems caused by former FBI Director James Comey and former Deputy FBI Director Andrew McCabe, three people in direct contact with active field agents tell TheDC.'There are agents all over this country who love the bureau and are sickened by [James] Comey's behavior and [Andrew] McCabe and [Eric] Holder and [Loretta] Lynch…[more]
—Kerry Picket, The Daily Caller
— Kerry Picket, The Daily Caller
Liberty Poll   

Do you believe media reporting that President Trump called immigrants "animals," without checking his full statement clearly referring specifically to "MS-13 gang members," was intentional or unintentional?